Golden State Warriors

The Golden State Warriors is a professional basketball team located in San Francisco, California, USA. It belongs to the Pacific Division of the Western Conference of the NBA. The main stadium is Chase Bank Center. The team’s motto is “The whole team is a city” (The whole team is a city). The Warriors are a rare name in the North American professional sports league that does not include a team whose home is in the city. This is because in 1971, the team wanted to use Oakland in Northern California and San Diego in Southern California as their home games, and the California nickname “Golden State” (Golden State) is the name to represent the entire California team. The Warriors, formerly known as the Philadelphia Warriors, was founded in 1946 and is one of the founding teams of the league. It won the league’s first season championship in 1947. In 1962, the team moved to the San Francisco Bay Area and changed its name to the San Francisco Warriors; in 1971, the team changed its name to the current Golden State Warriors. In 1972, the team moved to the Oakland Coliseum, separated from San Francisco by a bridge. The team moved back to San Francisco in the 2019-20 season and the new stadium is the Chase Center. The team has won 6 league championships in total. The Golden State Warriors scored 73 wins and 9 losses in the 2015-16 season, becoming the team with the best record in a single regular season in NBA history. It broke the Chicago Bulls record of 72 wins and 10 losses in the 1995-96 season, but the championship game faced the Cleveland Cavaliers, the original Warriors Leading 3-1, but was eventually reversed by the Cavaliers 3-4, becoming the first team in NBA history to be reversed with a 3:1 lead in the championship game. In the 2016-2017 season, the Warriors’ former scoring champion Kevin Durant played the expected strength in the playoffs, effectively filling the scoring and defensive vacancies, and led the team to a record of 16 wins and 1 loss in the playoffs. [7]. In the 2017-18 season finals, he swept the Cleveland Cavaliers 4-0 to win the NBA championship and reached the second consecutive hegemony.

League: West

Division: Pacific Division

Founded: 1946


Philadelphia Warriors 1946–1962

San Francisco Warriors 1962–1971

Golden State Warriors 1971–present

Arena: Chase Bank Center

City: San Francisco, California

Team color: Royal Blue, Beige Orange 

Sponsor: Lotte

Chairman: Rick Wiltz

General Manager: Bob Meyers

Head coach: Steve Kerr

Owner: Joe Lacob (main), Peter Guber

Affiliated team: Santa Cruz Warriors

Overall champion: 6 times (1947, 1956, 1975, 2015, 2017, 2018)

League Championship: 11 times

East: 3 times (1947, 1948, 1956)

West: 8 times (1964, 1967, 1975, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)

Division champions: 7 (1975, 1976, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)

Retired back number: 6 (13, 14, 16, 17, 24, 42)

Golden State Warriors

Post time: Sep-01-2020